Here and There

Standard

Everyone is going nuts in this city. It is the only rational explanation that I can come up with. I got to Miami and was picked up by my mom at 11:00 pm. The fuzziness from the bowl that I had smoked in the bus bathroom had not worn off yet and my mom would not stop talking to me. I just wanted to be left alone. When I did not respond to what she was saying, I got shoved, or tapped, or poked. So I responded with a few nods here and there. Homecoming was interesting. For the first time in a long time, the house was silent. Neyleen was in the bathroom ironing her hair/hair extensions and I surprised her when I zombied in. We talked for about an hour, then I lay down and crashed in Amanda’s room, shoes and all.

Yesterday was a funny blur. I layed around the house watching Neyleen on the computer all day. 6:00 rolled around, and I couldn’t take it anymore, I was restless, with nothing to do, nowhere go. Then Vicky called. She picked me up at 6:30 and we went to her house and caught up. Apparently we are going through almost the same thing. We went to her boyfriend’s house and I sat there listening to them play some music. It was alright. Nothing compared to Gainesville, though. We smoked like chimneys, got really high, sat around for a little longer, then left. The highlight of yesterday was when Vicky and I got to her house and made cereal salads and watched stand up comedy until 5am. It is nice to know that I am not entirely alone in this city.

Vicky and I woke up this morning to a giant McDonald’s breakfast. We were still stoned and chomped down gross pancakes, hash browns, and biscuits. Well, I guess it wasn’t too bad; the tummy ache afterwards is what sucked. Later, we decided that the pool was the place to be, so we changed and jumped into her pool. We were both feeling pretty down in the dumps so we drank some whiskey, and chatted for a while. I will no longer be drinking my sorrows away because it does not really help at all. After whiskey chatting, she drove me back to my mom’s house. I ate some food and played with Jordan for a long time. He is the sunlight in my life right now. He farted on me and that made me laugh for the first time in 48 hours. Slowly, dark clouds made a heavy, fast-moving blanket over Miami, and the rain came crashing down. Jordan kept me company on the stoop while I smoked a cigarette. The highlight of today was watching the lightning tear through the sky, with Jordan sitting next to me; both of us jumping at the same time as the thunder roared.

I know that life kind of sucks right now, but I would rather not dwell on that. I am just going to take it one step at a time and make the best of this mess that I have made. Everything is always okay in the end.

Homework: Laugh. I don’t care where you are, just laugh.

Leave a Reply

