Please Don’t Text and Drive!

Standard

Okay. So, I know that today is Friday the 13th, and I know what reputation trails along behind this product of human superstition. I have to say that, although I don’t believe in this “don’t walk underneath ladders!”, “don’t cross paths with a black cat!” etc. BS, some really scary things happened to me today. To put it simply, I almost died twice today. Scary? Not really.

Incident #1- After taking the mail to the mail room, I was crossing the street, on the pedestrian cross-walk (cars are supposed to stop when the yellow lights are blinking), the yellow lights were blinking, a van stopped, waiting for me to cross. I was in the middle of the street, passing this van when instinct kicked in and I looked to right. There was a truck speeding towards me, the driver was texting. He was a few feet away when he looked up and slammed on the breaks. I stood there in shock, the hood of the truck was about 5 inches from my chest. This all happened in a matter of about 10 seconds. In case anyone is wondering; my life did not flash before my eyes, nothing crossed my mind except “oh shit.”

Incident #2- My mom picked me up from the train station and she was talking to me about the usual “your sister this!”, “your sister that!”, “Why do people talk so much shit!” My only response being “Who cares what they say? Everyone is entitled to their own opinion..yada yada yada blah blah blah.” All I was thinking about was my tummy hurting as a result of my recent splurge on 3 cafe con leches today. When we were in front of the house, my mom realized that the gate was closed so she asked me to walk around the car and open the gate for her. I was walking around the front of my mom’s car when a small black Honda speeds right around my mom’s car and is 2 inches (literally) away from me. Had I not bounced back, had I taken one more step toward my house, I’m sure that I would have been a bloody mess with broken bones, or worse, I could have died. The girl that was driving, was going about 50 miles an hour, on the wrong side of the road. She was about my age, with long brown hair, and she was TEXTING…go figure. It doesn’t end there though. I fainted. Yes, I literally fainted, maybe that was a result of our 106 degree weather. Well, I survived Friday the 13th…so far. It’s only 5:45…something tells me that I should not go out anymore today. My tummy still hurts though.

Leave a Reply

