Its been a while ( now i have internet)

Standard

Books that I have read since I arrived in Raleigh:
-A Confederacy of Dunces (round2)
-A year in the merde
– Lady Susan
-Emma (round 2)
-Anna Karenina
-Moll Flanders
-Madame bovary
-Audrey Hepburn’s biography
– Marilyn Monroe’s biography
-Madame Bovary
-Breakfast at Tiffany’s
-The House of Mirth

Favorite quotes from some of these wonderful books:

Anna Karenina:

“you can look at a thing tragically and turn it into a misery, or you can take it simply and even humorously. Possibly, you are inclined to think on the tragic side”
“how I wish I knew other people as I know myself! Am I worse than others, or better? Worse, I think.”
-Tolstoy

“If he would fight, would stand up for his honor, I could do something, could express my feelings; but this weakness or abjectness… He puts me in the position of a snake in the grass, which I never meant and never mean to be.”
–Tolstoy

“I don’t want to prove anything: I merely want to live, doing no harm to anyone but myself. I have the right to that, haven’t I?”
-Tolstoy

“I’ve always loved you, and if one loves anyone, one loves the whole person, just as they are and not as one would like them to be.”
-Tolstoy

“I have always told you…that if you don’t want to be bored, you mustn’t think you’re going to be bored, just as you mustn’t be afraid of not falling asleep if you fear insomnia.”
–Tolstoy

Moll Flanders:

“she is always married too soon, who gets a bad husband, and she is never married too late, who gets a good one.”
-Defoe

“to be discouraged, is to yield to the misfortune.”
-Defoe

“let the experience of one creature completely wicked, and completely miserable be a storehouse of useful warning to those that read.”
-Defoe

Madame Bovary:

“before marriage, she thought herself in love; but the happiness that should have followed this love not having come, she must, she thought, have been mistaken. And Emma tried to find out what one meant exactly in life by the words felicity, passion, rapture, that had seemed to her so beautiful in books.”
-Flaubert

“like shipwrecked sailors,she turned despairing eyes upon the solitude of her life, seeking afar off some white sail in the mists of the horizon.”
-Flaubert

“it was the whisper of the soul, deep, continuous, dominating that of their voices. Surprised with wonder at this strange sweetness, they did not think of speaking of the sensation or of seeking it’s cause. Coming joys, like tropical shores, throw over the immensity before them their inborn softness and odorous wind, and we are lulled by this intoxication without a thought of the horizon that we do not even know.”
-Flaubert

Breakfast at Tiffany’s:

“anyway, home is where you feel at home. I’m still looking.”
-capote

“because it can go on forever. Not knowing whats yours until you’ve thrown it away.”
– capote

“If you let yourself love a wild thing, you’ll end up looking at the sky.”
-capote

“but the mean reds are horrible. You’re afraid and you sweat like hell, but you don’t know what you’re afraid of. Except something bad is going to happen, only you don’t know what it is.”
-capote

“I want to still be me when I wake up one morning and have breakfast at Tiffany’s.”
-capote

Audrey Hepburn:

“the greatest victory has been to be able to live with myself, to accept my shortcomings…I’m a long way from the human being I’d like to be. But I’ve decided I’m not so bad after all.”
-Audrey Hepburn

Much more to come!!!

Leave a Reply

