Where I Stand

Standard

As a woman, it is only natural to want to make friends with other women.

Unfortunately that is just not something that is in the cards for me, at least not right now. It is so hard to find a group of people that truly understand and accept you. I’m new to this city, and was so accustomed to my fellow musicians and artists that I used to hang out with in Gainesville Fl; people that were just as strange and open minded as I am. Now, I live in the bible belt where people are more conditioned and more critical of anyone remotely different than they are. I showed up in this city and was very open about who I am and what I believe in, and I think that I have scared everyone away with my strangeness. I am lonely, I have to admit. I really wish to find a crowd who enjoy art and eccentric people, books and (real) music. People that I can fly my freak flag with and not have to worry about any judgement being passed. Well, there is an old saying (sort of) that I like to stick to in times like these: Stop looking for your missing sock, because it is only when you stop looking that you will find it. The same goes with situations like this one. When I stop looking for that group, I will find them.

Falling up

Leave a Reply

