Dear Miami,

Standard

You must know by now that I didn’t mean all of those mean things that I used to say about you!  I miss you so much, and now that I am gone, it is more evident to me that perhaps you and I could have worked out our little differences in a more effective way. Kahlil Gibran once said “How could I have seen you save from a great height or a great distance?” this line rings more truth for us now that I am so many miles away missing those sandy shores, and my crazy Cubans, and the food (ah, the food!). Someday soon, I will run into your heat again, and I will probably get mad at you but you have to take into consideration that some little things about you just don’t agree with me. However, at this point in time I have come to realize that those little things that pinched and tugged at my nerves are some of the things that I love most about you (even the terrible drivers!). You are my home, for, home is where the heart is and my heart is with you. The only thing that I ask of you is to receive me with a blue sky and a brilliant sun. Let all of our Cubans out on the streets (with churros, I hope), and I will smile with open arms ready to roast on the beach with a Corona in my hand and a giant piece of flan in my purse.  I will be home soon but until then, please get all of the rain out of your system.

With endless love,

Katryna

 

Leave a Reply

